Lock Security Standards Explained

April 17, 2015

Written by Jeff Seymour

Image of Jeff Seymour at Seymour Locksmiths

When checking your home security it’s important that the correct locks are in place and that they meet certain British standards set by regulating bodies.

In this blog I’ve put together a short summary to explain everything you need to know when it comes to locks and the security standards that relate to them.

British Standards (BS)

A British standard sets the benchmark for the quality of goods and services which are produced by the British Standards Institution (BSI)

Products and services that the BSI certificates, are awarded the BSI Kitemark found on packaging and in the case of locks, this is found on the lock its self.

This is the British Standard relating to thief resistant locks.


This is a European norm relating to cylinder locks.

Together, these standards benchmark the minimum performance required for locks and cylinders fitted to external doors to be acceptable to the Association of British Insurers (ABI) and the UK Police Service.


This is a technical specification, produced by the Door and Hardware Federation and the Glass and Glazing Federation.

TS007:2012 have a high security standard for replacement lock cylinders and protective door furniture. The standard was written in response to the threat of burglary due to the increase in information on lock attacks and techniques fond on the internet.

TS007:2012 uses a three star system, which includes the cylinder or a combination of cylinder and door security furniture. Together they must have a accumulation of three stars to meet the minimum security requirements.

Secured By Design

Secured by Design is the official UK Police initiative which focuses on crime prevention for homes and commercial premises. It promotes the use of security standards for a wide range of products including home security and locks.

Sold Secure

Sold Secure is a testing house dedicated to reducing crime by the assessment of security products. It is run by the Master Locksmiths Association (MLA).
Sold Secure approval is classified into three categories, Bronze, Silver and Gold.
There is a additional level of Diamond for certain locks.

Sold Secure Diamond standard incorporates the cylinder testing of BS3621 and EN1303:2005 as well as testing aimed at the lock snapping of cylinders.
Cylinders that meet this specification will have the sold secure quality mark on the packaging.

Security Levels Explained


The security products comply with the latest British Standards and offer the Maximum level of security. These locks should be used on external doors and they are approved by the UK Police and Insurance companies.


High Security products provide a high level of protection and features.
These locks should only be used on external doors front/back in conjunction with a maximum security level lock.


Standard Security products offer convenient locking solutions with a basic features.
These locks should only be used on external doors front/back in conjunction with a maximum security level lock.

I hope by reading and understanding the different levels of security for your home you have a better understanding of which locks suits your needs best. Please feel free to contact Seymour Locksmiths for any security related questions or if you’d rather have a free no obligation assessment of your properties security.



Other areas we cover


Payment Methods Accepted